Convention FAQs

When is the convention?

The official dates for the 2013 Congressional Medal of Honor Society Convention are September 18th-22nd in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania.

Can I attend the convention?

The convention is a private event for the Congressional Medal of Honor Society, however, there are four events that will be open to the public. These events include an Autograph Session, Town Hall Forum, Battlefield Concert and the Patriot Award Dinner. The first three events are free, however tickets are required. Please click on the Public Events tab for more information and to register for these events.

The Patriot Award Dinner is also a ticketed event. Tickets to the dinner begin at $500. For more information, please visit our Patriot Award Dinner page. If you are interested in purchasing tickets, please contact Samantha Meyer at meyer@cmoh2013.org.

Can I volunteer at the convention?

If you are interested in volunteering, please click on our Volunteer tab to fill out a volunteer survey. Please note that positions are filling quickly, so we encourage you to complete the survey soon. A representative from the convention will contact you to discuss positions available.
Medal of Honor FAQs

Has a woman ever been awarded the Medal of Honor?

Yes, Mary Walker was the only woman awarded the Medal of Honor at Bull Run on July 21, 1861

How many double recipients are there?

There are nineteen double recipients.

Is it required to be a U.S. citizen in order to be awarded the Medal of Honor?

It is not required to be a U.S. citizen, but you must be in the U.S. military in order to qualify for the Medal of Honor.

Who was the first recipient?

The earliest actions for which the Medal was awarded took place before the Civil War had even begun, February 13-14, 1861 in what is now Arizona. Bernard J.D. Irwin was an Assistant Surgeon in the Army when he voluntarily led a command of troops to relieve a surrounded detachment of the 7th Infantry. Irwin’s Medal was not awarded until January 24,1894, over 30 years after he had performed his deed. But on March 25, 1863 Pvt. Jacob Parrott was the first of a group of 6 men awarded the Medal for their actions in “The Great Locomotive Chase” in April 1862. They were the first ever to wear the Medal of Honor.

Who was the first African-American recipient?

William Carney was the first African-American recipient. He was awarded the Medal of Honor for his actions on July 18,1863 at Fort Wagner, SC.

Is the Medal of Honor only awarded to enlisted personnel?

Originally the Medal of Honor was only presented to the enlisted, but on March 3, 1863 this was extended to officers as well.

What are the guidelines for which the medal could be awarded?

On July 25,1963 Congress established a set of guidelines under which the Medal of Honor could be awarded:

a.) while engaged in an action against an enemy of the United States;
b.) while engaged in military operations involving conflict with an opposing foreign force; or,
c.) while serving with friendly forces engaged in armed conflict against an opposing armed force in which the United States is not a belligerent party.

How many minority recipients of the MOH have been awarded (African-American, Hispanic-American, Asian-American and Native-American)?

There have been 87 African-American MOH Recipients.
There have been 41 Hispanic-American MOH Recipients.
There have been 33 Asian-American MOH Recipients.
There have been 32 Native-American MOH Recipients.

Courtesy of Congressional Medal of Society.